Ken’s Take on the World


Spring is coming!!
March 16, 2009, 2:02 am
Filed under: Personal

It’s a beautiful Sunday afternoon in southeast Michigan.  One of the first truly great days to be outside.  Of course, I have been outside.  I went out earlier for a smoke as I never smoke inside and I got to run around the yard with the dog.

Michael got home and decided it was a perfect day to clean out the flower gardens.  He loves to garden and make the yard look like an English Gardens display.  This means that I have to get off my butt and “help.”  By help, I am referring to going around and picking up all of the piles of leaves and compost and other crap that he is in the process of raking.  I do not have a green thumb and am not allowed to do weeding as I have been known to remove a misidentified object that people refer to as a plant.  Hey, there was no flower on the thing, how am I supposed to know.

Today, we took care of the backyard.  It is ready for planting when we have some stable warm weather.  Again, I know that Michael will make the entire yard look fabulous and a place where friends and relatives can gather and admire his creations!  He does have that talent and I am always impressed.

A sure sign that spring is here even though the calendar says it’s a few days away…the first robin.  I saw it this morning as I had my cigarette.  It landed on the fence about four feet away from me.  I think it winked at me as if to say, “I’m just checking it out but not staying.  It’s going to get too cold again.  I’ll be back in May!”  I inclined my head in reply, “Too late, you’ve been seen!!  Spring is definitely near.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

